National Governance

Governing Documents

Constitution and Bylaws

National Council of Alpha Chi

The National Council is the planning and executive arm of Alpha Chi. Its membership varies, but includes a constitutional minimum of eight faculty members elected by the National Convention, seven other faculty who are regional secretary-treasurers, and seven students representing their regions. From the faculty members on the Council are elected the three national officers: president, vice president, and secretary. Along with the executive director, who serves ex-officio, these compose the executive committee. Current List of National Council Members

Regional Governance

Each chapter of Alpha Chi is affiliated with one of seven regions, which convene every year to conduct their business. The regions meet in conjunction with the annual National Convention. Each region elects from faculty sponsors a president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer; they, along with the elected student representative, compose the executive committee of the region. Current List of Regional Officers

Region I: West Texas, Oklahoma Panhandle, and New Mexico
Region II: East Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana
Region III: Southeast, Middle Atlantic, and Puerto Rico
Region IV: Northern Plains
Region V: Eastern Midwest
Region VI: Northeast
Region VII: West

Chapter Sponsors

Each chapter functions with an advisor (Alpha Chi calls them sponsors) who acts as the liaison to the national office. The chapter sponsor is responsible for overseeing all aspects of local chapter life. Many chapters also elect assistant sponsors who help the primary sponsor with these duties.

National Office

Alpha Chi’s national headquarters are in Little Rock, Arkansas. Contact Us