Contact: Trisha Yarbrough Executive Director tyarbrough@alphachihonor.org

Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society 1210 E. Race Avenue Searcy, AR 72143-4656 www.alphachihonor.org Phone: (800) 477-4225



PRESS RELEASE

Gardner-Webb University Students Claim Nationwide® Collaborative Research Prize

Searcy, Ark.—Gardner-Webb University's student research team, comprised of student members of the North Carolina Zeta chapter of Alpha Chi, received the \$5,000 Nationwide Collaborative Research Prize at the 2018 Alpha Chi National College Honor Society annual convention. With a project titled, "The Psychology of Oceanic Climate Change," the winning team members were Tyler Hemingway, chemistry major; Damian Hutchins, biology major; Hope Still, nursing major; and Kelsi Williams, psychology major. The North Carolina Zeta chapter sponsor is Dr. June Hobbs.

Competition guidelines require chapters to assemble a team of three to five student researchers from at least three different departments; this team then develops a research problem from the general topic announced in the fall—this year's topic was Climate Change and the Future. A record number of ten Alpha Chi chapters formed collaborative teams to compete this year and represented 21 majors. More than 40 students were involved in the projects that were presented.

Lyon College's presentation, selected for the \$2,500 Nationwide second place prize, was titled, "Presence vs. Perception: Analyzing the Relationship Between the Presence and Public Perception of Climate Change by State." Marisa Ayers, English major, and Hannah Templin, political science and Spanish double major, presented for the team. The Arkansas lota chapter sponsor is Dr. Brian Hunt.

The following is a list of all ten chapters that presented their research in the 2018 competition:

- Gardner-Webb University, North Carolina Zeta, 1st Place, \$5,000 prize for "The Psychology of Oceanic Climate Change." Team members were Tyler Hemingway, Damian Hutchins, Hope Still, and Kelsi Williams.
- Lyon College, Arkansas Iota, 2nd Place, \$2,500 prize for "Presence vs. Perception: Analyzing the Relationship Between the Presence and Public Perception of Climate Change by State." Team members were Marisa Ayers, Hannah Templin, Madison Kate McGraw, Samantha Westcott, and Latricia Miller.
- Campbellsville University, Kentucky Lambda—"Methods for Battling Climate Change: An Analysis of Psychological Hindrances Behind a Lack of Action and a Case Study of Current Successful Methods in Our Region." Team members were Sarah Bowman, Maddie Daulton, and Jordan Read.
- East Central University, Oklahoma Gamma—"Shrinking the American Dream: An Analysis of Tiny Homes and their Ameliorating Effects on Climate Change." Team members were Allyson Gregory, Lauren Stafford, and Talor Stewart.
- Franklin Pierce University, New Hampshire Zeta—"Implications of Climate Change on Respiratory Health." Team members were Samantha Beaudry, Raymond Miller, Annalea Wohlgemuth, Alicia Heyer and Amanda King.

FOR RELEASE 1 PM CST, APRIL 18, 2018

- Lindenwood University, Missouri Pi—"The Business End of Environmental Responsibility." Team members were Catherine Lewis, Crystal Padilla, Nicole Baxter, Mike Dobratz, and Lucas Beddow.
- Ouachita Baptist University, Arkansas Beta—"The Cost of Climate Change: Lyme Disease and Your Wallet." Team members were Rachel Bacon, Cyntanna Hawkins, Lesley Howard, Lauren Lovelady, and Katie Smith.
- Texas State University, Texas Iota—"Perceptions of Texas State Population on Public Policy Regarding Climate Change." Team members were Joni Lindsey, Natasha Liu Thomas, and Ana Yanes-Garcia.
- University of Arkansas at Monticello, Arkansas Zeta—"How Climate Change Affects the Spread of Insect Borne Diseases and Impacts Economic and Policy Productivity in the Mississippi Alluvial Plain." Team members were Wyatt Carson, Gabrielle Hargrove, Dylan McClain, and Bethany Tapia.
- University of North Texas, Texas Eta—"Breathing Good in Your Neighborhood: An Air Quality and Environmental Assessment of Denton, Texas." Team members were Claire Baucom, Kylie Montgomery, Josh Reynolds, Ken Grand, and Brandi Webster.

The 2018 Collaborative Research Prize is proudly sponsored by Alpha Chi's affinity partner Nationwide Insurance. Nationwide[®] recognizes the importance of groups that bring people together to celebrate common interests and academic achievement. Alpha Chi is grateful that Nationwide not only offers a useful product but also values the scholarly excellence of these students.

Alpha Chi National College Honor Society invites to membership juniors, seniors, and graduate students from all disciplines in the top ten percent of their classes. Active on nearly 300 campuses nationwide, chapters induct more than 10,000 students annually. Since the Society's founding in 1922, Alpha Chi members have dedicated themselves to "making scholarship effective for good." Alpha Chi is a member in good standing of the Association of College Honor Societies, the only national accrediting body for collegiate honor societies.