National Scholarship Competition

Alpha Chi not only encourages but also invests in student research. Alpha Chi annually awards 26 scholarships and fellowships totaling $74,000. In 2018, our regions awarded another $15,000. For the national competition, each Alpha Chi chapter is allowed two undergraduate applicants each spring—either two Gaston/Nolle applicants, two Sledge/Benedict applicants, or one of each.

The Gaston/Nolle Scholarship competition is open to undergraduate members who will be full-time seniors in the fall of the award year.

The Sledge/Benedict Fellowship competition is open to undergraduate members who will be in their first year of graduate or professional study in the fall of the award year.

If you’re an undergraduate Alpha Chi member, check with your chapter sponsor to learn how to become one of your chapter’s nominees. 

The Pryor Fellowship competition is open to graduate student members and alumni members who will be in full-time graduate or professional study in the fall of the award year. Alumni members and graduate students at the time of application do not need to be nominated by an Alpha Chi chapter to apply for a Pryor Fellowship.

The national competition deadline is always in February.

Regional & Chapter Scholarships 
Alpha Chi’s seven regions offered scholarships and fellowships to the tune of $15,000 in 2018, but these competitions are completely separate from the national competition and may require different or additional elements. Here are the most recent recipients of regional awards. You may contact the secretary-treasurer for your region for more information:

Region I: Dr. Karl Havlak (karl.havlak@angelo.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.
Region II: Prof. Suzanne Pundt (spundt@uttyler.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.
Region III: Dr. Robert Mahan (rlmahan@milligan.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.
Region IV: Dr. Teddi Deka (deka@missouriwestern.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.
Region V: Dr. Craig Rogers (clrogers@campbellsville.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.
Region VI: Dr. Ken LaSota (lasota@rmu.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.
Region VII: Dr. Jackie Kegley (jkegley@csub.edu), regional secretary-treasurer.

Many individual chapters offer scholarships to their local members, so contact your chapter sponsor for information.