President’s Cup

The chapter that wins the President's Cup award receives a beautiful silver trophy.

Alpha Chi’s most prestigious chapter award is the President’s Cup, given at every national convention since 1987 to the chapter judged most outstanding. The beautiful President’s Cup trophy and an honorarium of $200 are presented to the recipient at the annual convention. Chapters cannot win the award in successive years.

Each region-nominated chapter should present an application report specifically addressing each of the criteria below, in sequence, devoting a separate section of the application to each criterion, with each section arranged chronologically with the most recent year first. The report will cover chapter activity for two full years, beginning with the convention prior to the year of nomination and going through the convention at which the award will be made. Thus, nominated chapters have submitted activities for a period that includes three conventions. The Awards & Honors Committee will consider only the specifically detailed information for the appropriate years.

President’s Cup selection criteria, in order of importance, are as follows:

  1. Campus activities (lectures, tutorials, discussions, competitions, etc.)
  2. Community activities that are academically oriented
  3. Number of student presentations at annual conventions
  4. Number of nominees for Gaston/Nolle Scholarships and Sledge/Benedict Fellowships
  5. Number of sponsor delegates at annual conventions
  6. Number of student delegates at annual conventions
  7. Number of Star or Notable Chapter Awards received
  8. Number of articles accepted for publication in Aletheia and/or Kalo
  9. Number of faculty nominated for honorary membership
  10. Social media or internet projects that promote campus awareness of Alpha Chi (such as Facebook, Twitter, or a chapter web page)
  11. Number of times the chapter or a chapter member has been mentioned in campus print media or online campus publication.

Although the committee will not evaluate supplementary material such as photographs, news clippings, brochures, scrapbooks, etc., nominated chapters are welcome to bring such material, separated from their applications, for display at the convention.

Procedure for President’s Cup Nominations and Selection:

At the annual convention, chapters let their regional presidents know their interest in applying for the award to be given at the next convention. This can best be accomplished at the region’s business meeting.

Regions nominate chapters for the award, with each region allowed one nominee for every twenty chapters or part of twenty chapters (a region with 1-20 chapters can have one nominee; a region with 21-40 chapters can have two nominees, etc.).

No later than one week before the national convention, each nominated chapter sends a document detailing how it met the Outstanding Chapter criteria to It will then be electronically forwarded to the chair of the Awards & Honors Committee. The following information should head the document: Name of Institution, Chapter Name (State & Greek letter), Region, and Chapter Number.


2024 Grand Canyon University, Arizona Alpha
2023 Waldorf University, Iowa Iota
2022 Carson-Newman University, Tennessee Delta
2021 competition suspended
2020 Lindenwood University, Missouri Pi (view their application)
2019 California State University, Bakersfield, California Iota (view their application)
2018 Shorter University, Georgia Theta (view their application)
2017 Abilene Christian University, Texas Psi

2016 Long Island University, Brooklyn, New York Sigma
2015 Huntington University, Indiana Beta
2013 University of Texas at San Antonio, Texas Alpha Pi

2011 Lyon College, Arkansas Iota
2009 Evangel University, Missouri Rho
2007 Lyon College, Arkansas Iota
2005 East Central University, Oklahoma Gamma
2003 John Brown University, Arkansas Lambda
2001 Huntington College, Indiana Beta
1999 Goldey-Beacom College, Delaware Beta
1997 Carson-Newman College, Tennessee Delta
1995 Tarleton State University, Texas Alpha Kappa
1993 Sam Houston State University, Texas Omicron
1991 Brescia College, Kentucky Delta
1989 Midwestern State University, Texas Alpha Gamma
1987 College of White Plains, Pace University, New York Delta