2020 W 3<sup>rd</sup> St., Ste. 320 Little Rock, Arkansas 72205 AlphaChiHonor.org 800.477.4225



## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## Alpha Chi Celebrates Advisor Milestones at 2024 Convention

For Immediate Release: Thu., Apr. 18, 2024

LITTLE ROCK, Ark.—Alpha Chi National College Honor Society is proud to honor several of its chapter advisors with special jewelry, recognizing their remarkable milestones of service and dedication to academic excellence through their work with Alpha Chi and the student members on their campuses.

Special jewelry in the form of service pins is awarded at five-year intervals, starting with a silver pin at ten years of service. At 15 years, a gold pin suspended from a matching horizontal bar is awarded. At 20 years, a sapphire is added to either end of the bar, emeralds upon 25 years, and diamonds at 30 years. A final ruby is added to the center of the pin for sponsors serving for 35 or more years.

These awards are given annually with the appreciation of the National Council and Alpha Chi headquarters staff.

The following advisors were awarded 10-year pins:

- Dr. John Ayabe, Simpson University
- Dr. Cassidy Cooper, University of Mobile
- Dr. Rebekah Crowe, Wayland Baptist University
- Dr. Jennifer Huddleston, Abilene Christian University
- Dr. Jason Jewell, Faulkner University
- Dr. Daniel Julich, Sterling College
- Ms. Carrie Libetti, Franciscan University of Steubenville
- Dr. Kent Strodtman, Columbia College
- Dr. Marie Sulit, Mount Saint Mary College
- Ms. Andrea Vella, SUNY Brockport

Five advisors were awarded 15-year pins:

- Dr. Bryan Bott, Adrian College
- Dr. Ron Brown, Texas State University
- Dr. Robin Buchanan, Lees-McRae College
- Dr. Suzanne Falck-Yi, Waldorf University
- Dr. Troy Goodale, Tusculum University

The following advisors were recognized for 20+ years of service:

- Dr. Bonita Cade, Roger Williams University, for 20 years of service
- Dr. Jessica Henry, Hastings College, for 20 years of service
- Dr. Lori Mills, Milligan University, for 20 years of service
- Dr. Randel Price, Christian Brothers University, for 20 years of service
- Dr. Jennifer Sassano, Dominican University New York, for 25 years of service

Finally, three advisors were recognized for 30+ years of service with Alpha Chi:

- Ms. Susan Land, Sul Ross State University, for 30 years of service
- Dr. Maxwell Rollins, Charleston Southern University, for 30 years of service
- Dr. Bill Soeffing, University of Sioux Falls, for 35 years of service

Alpha Chi also awarded **Distinguished Service Awards** to seven chapter advisors as each region is responsible for identifying a nominee to receive the award. Those receiving the award from their region were: Dr. Paula Williamson of Texas State University, Region I; Dr. Leslie DeArman of Southern Methodist University, Region II; Dr. Mary Jackson of Milligan University, Region III; Dr. Steve Hoekstra of Kansas Wesleyan University, Region IV; Dr. Ruth Nalliah of Huntington University, Region V; Dr. Linda Latimer of Post University, Region VI; and Dr. Breanna Naegeli of Grand Canyon University, Region VII.

Alpha Chi National College Honor Society invites membership to juniors, seniors, and graduate students from all disciplines in the top ten percent of their classes at its member institutions. Chartered on more than 300 campuses nationwide, chapters induct approximately 8,000 students annually. Since the Society's founding in 1922, Alpha Chi members, charged with upholding the tenets of Truth and Character, have dedicated themselves to "making scholarship effective for good." Alpha Chi is a certified member in good standing of the Association of College Honor Societies.

##