Contact: George Kantelis Communications Manager gkantelis@alphachihonor.org Alpha Chi National College Honor Society 8 Shackleford Plaza, Ste. 200 Little Rock, Arkansas 72211 AlphaChiHonor.org 800.477.4225



PRESS RELEASE

Alpha Chi Celebrates Advisor Milestones at 2023 National Convention

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Alpha Chi National College Honor Society is proud to honor several of its distinguished advisors with Advisor Service Pins, recognizing their remarkable milestones of service and dedication to academic excellence through their work with Alpha Chi.

Special jewelry in the form of service pins is awarded at five-year intervals, starting at ten years of service. After fifteen years of service, gemstones are added to the pin upon each additional five years of service. These awards are given annually with the appreciation of the National Council and Alpha Chi headquarters staff.

Lara Noah, National Executive Director of Alpha Chi, expressed her appreciation for the advisors, stating, "It's an honor to recognize these advisors' service with special pins that symbolize our heartfelt appreciation for the dedication and commitment they have shown through their work with Alpha Chi.

The following advisors were awarded 10-year pins:

- Dr. Nancy Bombaci, Mitchell College
- Dr. Joel Haney, California State University, Bakersfield
- Dr. Jessica Hawkins, Centenary College of Louisiana
- Dr. Jackie Kegley, California State University, Bakersfield
- Dr. Robert Lamar, Warner University
- Dr. Steven Mills, Buena Vista University
- Dr. Coyle Neal, Southwest Baptist University

Four advisors were awarded 15-year pins:

- Dr. Scott Giltner, Culver-Stockton College
- Dr. David Magers, Mississippi College
- Dr. Ruth Nalliah, Huntington University
- Ms. Dolores O'Mary, William Carey University

The following seven advisors were recognized for 20+ years of service:

- Dr. June Hobbs of Gardner-Webb University, for 20 years of service
- Dr. John McLaughlin of Freed-Hardeman Univ., for 20 years of service
- Dr. William Rivers of Goldey-Beacom College, for 20 years of service
- Dr. Michael Collins of William Penn University, for 25 years of service
- Dr. Chris Hammons of Houston Christian University, for 25 years of service
- Dr. Karl Havlak of Angelo State University, for 25 years of service
- Dr. David Jones of Westminster College, for 25 years of service

Finally, two advisors were awarded pins for 30+ years of service to the society:

- Dr. Al Clark of Univ. of La Verne, for 30 years of service
- Dr. Curtis McClain, Jr. of Missouri Baptist University, for 35 years of service

Alpha Chi also awarded Distinguished Service Awards to six chapter advisors during its National Convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Each region is responsible for identifying a nominee from their region to receive the Distinguished Service Award. Those receiving the award from

their region were: Dr. Rebekah Crowe of Wayland Baptist University, Region I; Dr. Myra Houser of Ouachita Baptist University, Region II; Dr. Laura Steil of Mars Hill University, Region III; Dr. Justine Pas of Lindenwood University, Region IV; Dr. Linda Cowan of West Liberty University, Region V; and Dr. Yongli Chen of Hawaii Pacific University, Region VII.

The organization also acknowledged the upcoming retirement of two advisors: Dr. June Hobbs, Region III Executive Officer (2008-2012) and Council Member-at-Large (2015-2023) and to Dr. Michael Rosenfeld, the Director of the Center for Academic Excellence at Pace University. Alpha Chi extends its gratitude for their years of service.

Alpha Chi National College Honor Society invites membership to juniors, seniors, and graduate students from all disciplines in the top ten percent of their classes at its member institutions. Chartered on more than 300 campuses nationwide, chapters induct approximately 10,000 students annually. Since the Society's founding in 1922, Alpha Chi members, charged with upholding the tenets of Truth and Character, have dedicated themselves to "making scholarship effective for good." Alpha Chi is a certified member in good standing of the Association of College Honor Societies.